School Mornings

     I grab my bag and frantically pull on my favorite pair of boots. Glancing at the clock I see that it reads 7:11 “Oh no,” I think “I’m going to be so late for school.” I never mean to be tardy, but when the sheets of my bed are so warm and the dream I’ve had has been especially good can you really blame me for getting up 20 minutes late? It usually takes me at least 15 minutes to walk to school so I know if there is any hope of being on time I need to HURRY. I do a quick mental check to make sure I have everything I need “Okay, phone, homework, water bottle, lunch… I feel like I’m missing someth- MY COAT.” I sprint up the stairs to my room two steps at a time and yank it off the hanger. My family says that I would forget my head if it weren’t attached to my neck and I’m starting to see why. Yelling a goodbye to my mom I dart out the door and run as fast as my raised heel shoes will allow in snow. Finally reaching the school I swing open the door and realize that the bell already rang, however there are still some people in the hallways, a pretty good sign. Upon reaching my locker I’m panting. I spin in my combination, throw my things in, yank my ELA binder, water and reading book out of my bag and rush through the door into the classroom. As I sit down I breath a sigh of relief just as the bell rings. Its free write Friday so I take out my interactive notebook and see that I forgot my pencil… and my planner.

One thought on “School Mornings

  1. I love the frantic hustle that I felt while reading this. I’m sure it’s the same frantic hustle you hated feeling, but you’ve turned it into inspiration.

    Favorite line – “I dart out the door and run as fast as my raised heel shoes will allow in snow.”

    Favorite plot twist – “and see that I forgot my pencil…and my planner.”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *